Chicago is my future home

28 07 2010

Well. I love Chicago, there is pretty much never enough words to describe the love πŸ™‚

Me and my friends went there for a long weekend, the cubs game, and to participate in the Great Urban Race. The GUR is like the Amazing Race (lifelong dream btw) but only takes place in one city,and only for a day (5 hour time limit). The GUR is awesome and highly recomended. You get a page (front/back) of clues that you must decode and figure out the destination. This part was the hardest for us Nebraska girls. Considering we knew where nothing was. Once you find the spot, you either do a challenge, or take a picture. It rocked! We basically ran around the great city for 3 hours and 40 minutes. I was a sweaty mess, maybe even more so than after the marathon! The GUR is also a costume contest. Me and my partner dressed as Superman (me) and Spiderman. I felt like a complete dork waiting for the Metro. My other two friends, who basically dominated in reading a map, dressed up as salt creek tiger beetles. Don’t ask; I don’t think they are actually real.

The rest of the weekend was spent shopping and just walking around. Navy Pier was involved, and I heart it. BIG TIME. On Sunday me and one of my friends went on a five mile run, which also involved getting lost while looking for buckingham fountain, and taking lots of pictures. I loved seeing so many runners, and can definetly see myself living there once this whole college thing is over with πŸ˜‰ On Sunday night we headed to the Cubs game and they lost in 12 innings. On Monday, the last day, I went for an early morning walk and just happened to see some of the filming for Transformers 3. We also went to Ed Debevics for lunch, and the food was okay (I got veggie chili) but the highlight was how “rude” the waiters were. I would love to work there πŸ™‚

All in all I had a great mini-vacation and did not want to leave, but sadly the real world was waiting for me. Only 4 more years until my dreams of being a local can come true, until then drooling will continue!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

