Punch Kettleball Gym

21 12 2010

My mom loves groupons. Every time she sees one she thinks I’ll like she sends it my way seeing if I’d like to buy one. Since break is on, I get bored just a little too easily. I work 20-24 hours a week at Trader Joe’s, but there is plenty of time left in the day. Long story short, here’s the latest groupon I bought:

Punch Kettlebell Gym is fairly new to Lincoln. The trainer I had today said they just opened in March. This was the first time I had heard about it, so I was a little nervous. I will start marathon training in 3 short weeks, but my strength regime has definitely fallen off the wayside. I could feel that today as I struggled (and sweated) through the 55 minute class.

I woke up at 7:55 am and had a pre-workout breakfast of a sesame bagel from TJ’s, PB, and a banana.

I then headed to the Kettlebell gym where I signed in, filled out some paperwork, and began the workout. For warm-up I did 2 minutes of jump rope, forearm stretches with these weird club things, and walking around the gym with a kettlebell. That was the easy part.

inside the gym

Then the workout started. I did a lot of squats, lunges, swinging the kettlebell, dumbbell, and lunges. I also was having some trouble with the pengilium swing where you use your hips as momentum instead of your shoulders. I think I finally mastered that, about twenty minutes later.

The kettlebell swing

The hardest part was their “treadmill” basically it was two long ropes that were heavy, and you got in a squat position and swung them, kind of like a snake-like motion. It was hard. Like really hard.

By these time (like 50 minutes in) I was drenched. The trainer was really nice, and asked about my background of running and such. He thought the workout would be easy for me, but I hardly ever strength train, so this was just a little A LOT challenging 😉

For the end of the workout we did 4 sets of 20 seconds each of three exercises:

1. jump rope

2. Kettlebell swings

3. “treadmill” ropes

It was so hard! I can run 6 miles and feel awesome. After these 4 sets, I was dying. Holy cow! They do this 4x 20 seconds at the end of each class at Punch Kettlebell.

Supposedly this idea of high intense exercises for 20 seconds each, with 10 seconds of rest, will burn as much calories as 30 minutes running at 8 min/mile. I don’t know if this is actually true at all, but I did work up a sweat. So we will see.

All in all I loved this workout today! The groupon is good for 6 weeks (until Feb) so I plan on using it 3-4 times a week (non consecutive days) and hopefully will see an improvement in my running and maybe lose some weight. Of course I need to work on my diet too, but this has to help!

Do you think 3-4 times a week is beneficial? I would go everyday to get my money’s worth, but I know that running needs to become a priority, and to not strength train every day of the week. Opinions?

After I got back to the apartment, I scarfed down a kiwi, TJ’s honey greek yogurt + some cereal with a spoonful of PB. My dad was coming over for a bike ride, so I headed out to meet him.

The bike ride was freeeezing! When we headed out, the wind was behind us so I felt great. After the turn around (5 miles) the wind was against us, and that was when my hands, face and feet went numb! Luckily, my dad tried to be a wind breaker, but it didn’t help that much :/

All in all we did 10.25 miles in under an hour. So, not that fast, but pretty good considering my legs were a little shaky from the workout at Punch.

Now I’m just relaxing until work. I work 4-12 am, so its going to be a long day. I picked up an extra shift to get some more hours in today. I don’t work tomorrow so I’m planning on a 6 miler and then going to a christmas party 🙂

Have a great Tuesday everyone! Christmas is soo close 🙂

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 12 2010
adventuresofpretendcook

Looks like a great workout . . . and a great way to strength train! Since running is a priority, I would do that about 3 times a week. Good luck!

22 12 2010
absgirl

thanks! I think thats what I’m going to do

Leave a Reply

